Filmmaker’s Debut Chronicles New Orleans’ Bounce in Documentary

Skip dance
Shelby “Skip” Skipper dances as mentor Big Choo looks on

I remember when I first moved to Louisiana and heard bounce music; I literally thought something was wrong with track until I noticed everyone in the club was dancing. That was more than five years and now that I have been a resident of Louisiana much longer I’ve grown to appreciate  Bounce music  and soon so will the world.

The world? Really Cameron? Yes the world. I say this because  I attended a screening  of Omitted at the 2013 New Orleans Film Festival.  Serving as  filmaker Kenna Moore‘s debut ; Omitted  is a documentary that chronicles the genre of music,  originated in Louisiana, know as “Bounce”.

Photo courtesy of Ghost of Elyesian Films and MLC Photography
Photo courtesy of Ghost of Elyesian Films and MLC Photography

” I chose to title the film Omitted because this style of music and dance seen in the film is one that gets over shadowed in the film” said Moore

Omitted not only chronicles how the genre of music   ,and dance style that accompanies, it  is deeply woven into Louisiana’s Culture , but also how it has become a way of life for some.

Stars of Omitted Skip and Big Choo
Stars of Omitted Skip and Big Choo

“This isn’t just a hobby this is what I want to do for the rest of my life ; I want to dance , I want to teach lessons; Bounce has opened so many doors for me and taken me so many places” said Shelby “Skip” Skipper Dancer

Omitted chronicles ,over a four month period, the amount of energy and time Skip has put into his craft. Showcasing his performaces on shows such as Ellen and competing on shows like So You Think You Can Dance.  Also featured in the film is New Orlean’s Bounce artist Big Choo who not only serves as the man behind the mic and multiple bounce hits , but also a mentor to Skip.

Moore does an amazing bring to light an Omitted part of Louisiana culture while beautifully taking us along for the ride as someone stops at nothing to make their dreams a reality.

This film will do nothing but put you in a great mood, motivate you and most importantly get up and most importantly get up and dance.

Check out the trailer for Omitted here.

One thought on “Filmmaker’s Debut Chronicles New Orleans’ Bounce in Documentary

  1. It great that everyone is finally realizing that the Bounce is part of the Culture of New Orleans and people are finally talking about it. New Orleans is not just Bourbon Street. It’s a place with a forever growing culture of talent, just waiting to be proliferated. Let’s do this. Y’all are so wrong but thanks for making me laugh.

Leave a Reply

