Amiyah Scott walks away from ‘RHOA’

Model/entertainer Amiyah Scott is putting the peach offered to her to become a Real Housewife of Atlanta back on the shelf.

Scott made  headlines after word spread that she would be added to the cast and make history as the first transgender housewife.

Before the season began we saw pictures of Amiyah posing with cast members on social media and glimpses of her in the background of episodes, as we waited for her to make an official appearance.

According to TMZ Scott balked at the idea of producers wanting make the model/entertainer an over-serialized and shady vixen on the show.

Amiyah was hoping to use the show as platform to be a role model for the transgender community.

About a month into filming Scott decided that this was not the way she wanted to be portrayed and walked off set.

amiyah

 

 

 

She posted the video and statement below explaining her departure from the show.

Welp seeingas that was the 1st (and probably last) glimpse of me on #RHOA tonight and I haven’t said anything about it (though the hype was craaazzzzzyyy) lmao. Let me say, I enjoyed ALL the ladies & I had a great time filming multiple scenes with them! Unfortunately due to contractual complications + the magic of editing, you won’t be seeing as much of me as expected. *whispers* (I don’t work for free. Lol. 😊) But everything happens for a reason & it was still an awesome experience! I’m in my 20’s and when this opportunity was BROUGHT to me, It was no guarantees & I was cool with that, but I wasn’t going to exploit myself or act out of character for it… I honestly saw a chance to help change the perspective of MY community, but I wanted to maintain my dignity. Housewife and Transgender aren’t words that are usually associated… Funny, because anyone who knows me knows that being a housewife is a dream of mine, not on reality tv, but in real life. 👰🏽 But contrary to popular belief, I personally know transgender housewives, models, doctors, lawyers and many other successful unique individuals, along with so many others who are fighting to break the negative stigma associated with the trans community. Not to mention, a lot of our opportunities are limited due to discrimination and that’s why most are forced into compromising occupations. But my point in this is to say, me filming with the #RealHousewivesOfAtlanta was not for attention, but to assist in breaking a stereotype. Trans women are not only sex objects or prostitutes. We are strong, educated & human just like everyone else. AND WE ARE HERE AND WE DEMAND RESPECT. And whatever I have to do to assist in that I will and won’t regret it. Now let me call my bf and schedule a hair appointment.

We’re rooting for you, we were all rooting for you! *In my Tyra voice* Hey, I understand can definitely respect some one for not putting a price on their morals and values.

We will see Amiyah on TV soon, she’s already been cast on Empire creator Lee Daniels’ new show.

*Even Kandi was sad to see her leave:

kandi

 

Leave a Reply

