How to spot a fake Hermes Constance Belt.

An authentic men's Constance Belt.
An authentic men’s Constance Belt.

I was in Houston for the weekend and took a trip to The Galleria. After succumbing to my retail addiction for couple hours and having small intervention, after realizing the cost of my taste I realized I had two choices: continue raiding the galleria and have to live in my car or spend the rest of my time window shopping.

After deciding my car wasn’t going to be my new home I left the Galleria, but found myself in Hermes. I casually walked around the store lusting over everything:$1500 leather cuffs, $10,000 briefcases $400 boxers, it was luxury heaven. I guess I’m just a masochist.

I think after noticing the excitement in my eyes within  a few minutes I heard :” Would you like to see anything?” from older sales woman.

Usually I would’ve said a polite “no I’m  just browsing”, but instead I decided to some research and replied “I’m looking for a constance belt”.  The sales associate realized I knew how speak ” Hermes” and she ushered me over to collection of leather belts and the classic  “H” buckles.

My curiosity was peaked after reading about a police raid in Baton Rouge where  Federal Agents seized 3,082 fake designer shoes and purses with an estimated manufacturer’s suggested retail price of $1 million in the raid. Among the items were fake Nike shoes, and bogus Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Prada and Coach merchandise.

A picture of a counterfeit men's Constance Belt.
A picture of a counterfeit men’s Constance Belt.

Now for those of you who don’t know the Hermes constance belt is one of the most sought after items made the luxury goods company. The simple belt with a held together by a large “H” buckle  has been seen on celebrities and public figures ranging from Drake to Oprah.  This highly sought after belt which starts at $800 for basic leather belt and buckle and can cost up to $4500 for an exotic skin is a sure sign that you “started at the bottom and now you’re here”.

Former Professional Football Player Chad Ocho-Cinco wearing a Constance belt.
Former Professional Football Player Chad Ocho-Cinco wearing a Constance belt.

The reason I had to see the belt was because everywhere I went wether it was  the club or the grocery I store I would see someone walking around with the coveted “H” around their waste. I had to put the envy aside and realize Baton Rouge is no Beverly Hills and not too many people in the Capitol city have kind of income to afford an Hermes belt.

So after coming to coming to realization that majority of the belts I was lusting after on a day to day basis were fake I decided for research, and mainly my own entertainment, I needed to know how to spot faux Constance belt. So I asked the sales woman and  she gave me three big tips.

1. Any hermes box is going say made in france on the side of lid. ( If it doesn’t say that then the box is fake and so are it’s contents)

2. All real “H” buckles are going to engraved with  “Hermes” at the top.

3. Most importantly no matter what time of metal the back of the buckle will  be matte and not shiny.

4. A dead giveway is fraying at the top, Hermes product are made from the highest quality leather and are handmade. So an authentic constance will not begin tear along the seam or begin to come apart.

I wasn’t allowed to take pictures in the store but I found a video posted by blogger Preston Boyer that gives good tips and similar to the lesson I received in spotting impostors.

Not that I have anything against people who purchase fake or “replica” luxury goods, ok well maybe I am little biased. I just don’t understand the point of buying and imitation of quality that will fall apart in order to portray a lifestyle some people can’t afford in some cases. Part of the excitement , once over coming the price, is the fact that your paying for quality product that will last decades and in some cases appreciate in value. Also knowing how to spot the fake Constance will protect those who are looking for an authentic one from counterfeiters. You’re welcome for the heads up.

4 thoughts on “How to spot a fake Hermes Constance Belt.

  1. not all boxes say “france” on the side. they used to, they also used to have the address on the top of the box. I bought a Kelly double tour and a Kelly perfume lock this july at Hermes in Union Square, SF and it doesn’t say france anywhere

  2. Ultimately, a dilemma that I’m passionate about. I have looked for data of this caliber for the previous various hours. Your internet site is greatly appreciated. eecdfgeedbge

  3. I agree with you in principle on the enjoyment of spending money on quality made items. In this particular instance though, you’re not paying $1000+ because it’s handmade or the leather comes from the most luxurious cows to ever grace the earth. You’re paying extreme markup for the name so you can, without word, tell the world you can afford the extreme markup. If you’re buying a Patek, I agree wholeheartedly since you’re buying an heirloom. If you’re buying a belt that celebrities are going to shun in 3 years, I’d be unhappy that I dropped so much on a belt that is no longer in fashion. Paying markup for what could be a fad escapes me is all I’m saying

Leave a comment